Call for Nominations for the Prestigious AWIEF Award Celebrating Women Entrepreneurs and Business Owners

Nominations are now open for the prestigious 2022 edition of the AWIEF ( Awards, which recognize, honor and celebrate women entrepreneurs and business owners in Africa and across various industry sectors for their achievements and contributions to inclusive economic growth on the continent. and social development.

AWIEF (African Women’s Innovation & Entrepreneurship Forum) ( is an award-winning pan-African women’s economic empowerment organization working to close the gender gap by promoting business leadership and women’s entrepreneurship in Africa.

Nominees for the AWIEF Awards must be emerging and established female entrepreneurs and founders who have demonstrated exceptional vision, leadership and inspiration despite the challenges of making a significant social impact and/or being successful in their business in line with AWIEF’s core innovation areas. , technology, entrepreneurship, leadership, and socio-economic development.

The winners of the AWIEF Awards 2022 will be announced and celebrated at a special ceremony and gala dinner at the AWIEF2022 conference (, which will take place on September 26 and 27, 2022, in Cairo, Egypt, with the theme ‘Advancing Africa through Gender Integration’.

The AWIEF Awards cover 8 categories with the following criteria:

Young Entrepreneur Award

Candidates must be between 18 and 35 years of age and must provide an example of leadership in their field and the importance of entrepreneurship to bring about positive change. Young entrepreneurs must have achieved tangible and material success (income and number of employees can show this).

Technology Entrepreneur Award

Candidates must be female entrepreneurs who have built innovative, innovative, game-changing technology ventures or start-ups.

Agri Entrepreneur Award

Candidates must be women entrepreneurs who have successfully started agricultural businesses and have products or services in the Agricultural value chain with strong evidence of their appeal and impact in their communities.

Creative Industry Awards

Nominees must be female entrepreneurs who reflect outstanding success in the creative industries, including music, performing arts, film, television and radio, interactive software and content such as virtual reality and augmented reality, media writing, publishing and print media, design and visual arts..

Empowerment Award

Candidates must be women who have contributed greatly to and invested in inspiring, guiding and empowering women and girls, thereby having a significant impact on the communities in which they operate, and society in general.

Energy Entrepreneur Award

Candidates must be female entrepreneurs in the oil & gas and/or green energy & renewable energy sectors who are running successful businesses with an impact on energy access and availability in their communities and countries.

Social Entrepreneur Award

Candidates must be women entrepreneurs who have developed innovative, systemic and sustainable solutions that directly address social issues, thereby having a transformative social impact on their communities and countries.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Candidates must be designated as female entrepreneurs who have demonstrated sustained and consistent performance in business, and outstanding and outstanding business leadership. The award also recognizes the significant contribution made to job creation and the economy.

Last year’s AWIEF Lifetime Achievement Award winner was Margaret Hirsch, Co-founder and Executive Director of Hirsch’s Homestores Group, South Africa’s largest independently owned electronics and appliances retail outlet. She said: “It was a huge honor, and for me what I use to help other women understand that 1: they have to be recognized, 2: they have to put themselves out there, and 3: they have to get things done.”

Irene Ochem, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of AWIEF, said: “There are outstanding entrepreneurs and women entrepreneurs across Africa who are driving growth, creating opportunity and making a positive impact on the continent. In this case, 6 . weth edition of the AWIEF Awards, we are once again excited to celebrate and highlight these inspiring women entrepreneurs and share their stories of excellence and success.”

Nominations for the 2022 AWIEF Awards close on 3rd June 2022. You can nominate yourself or nominate someone else.

Nomination process:

  1. Visit
  2. Register a participant profile by clicking “Submit entry” in the upper right corner of the page.
  3. Fill in the nomination form and submit.

Entries will be judged by a panel of esteemed business leaders and professionals.

Click here ( to view the 2021 AWIEF Awards winners:

For more information, email [email protected]

Distributed by the APO Group on behalf of the African Women’s Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF).

This Press Release has been issued by APO. Content is not monitored by the Business Africa editorial team and is not content that has been vetted or validated by our editorial team, evidence readers or fact checkers. The publisher is fully responsible for the contents of this announcement.

Call for Nominations for the Prestigious AWIEF Award Celebrating Women Entrepreneurs and Business Owners

Source link Call for Nominations for the Prestigious AWIEF Award Celebrating Women Entrepreneurs and Business Owners

Back to top button