Gumede declines nomination, Ncube-Dube fails to garner support

The chairman of the African National Congress (ANC) eThekhwini and Zandile Gumede, who has been accused of corruption, refused nomination as provincial treasurer because of the step aside policy.

Gumede was the only female candidate to reach the 20% nomination threshold at the branches.

When it was time to accept her nomination, eThekwini regional secretary Musa Nciki stepped forward and announced that Gumede would not be contesting because she had stood aside.

The hotly contested congress initially had six candidates vying for the post of chairman – Zikalala, Finance MEC Nomusa Dube-Ncube, Community Safety MEC Peggy Nkonyeni, legislature chairman Sibiniso Duma, businessman Sandile Zungu and former KZN director general Nhlanhla Ngidi.

Late Friday, six people withdrew their names, leaving Zikalala and Duma as the two contenders. Zungu was nominated from the floor on Saturday but declined nomination.

ALSO READ: KZN ANC Conference | Four candidates pull out

Meanwhile, Ncube-Dube was also nominated from the floor to oppose Zikalala and Duma.

Ahead of the conference, Ncube-Dube was approached by her supporters as the first woman who could become the leader of the ANC in the province. However, she failed to meet the minimum threshold of 25% for floor nominations, much to the disappointment of her supporters.

KwaZulu-Natal Finance MEC Nomusa Ncube-Dube with provincial secretary candidate Mdumiseni Ntuli at the provincial ANC Conference held in Durban. Photo: Twitter

Health MEC Nomagugu Simelane is one of the two women on the nomination list of the top five candidates, who were nominated from the floor and met the minimum threshold for deputy chairperson. She is against Education MEC Kwazi Mshengu.

For the post of secretary, Kokstad Municipal Mayor Bheki Mtolo is up against the incumbent Mdumiseni Ntuli. It is the Deputy Secretary Sipho Hlomuka against the speaker of the legislature Nontobeko Boyce.

Elections for the top five leaders will begin once the nominations and requirements are met.

Acting General Secretary Paul Mashatile and national executive committee (NEC) members Nocawe Mafu, Lindiwe Sisulu, Mduduzi Manana and Nomvula Mokonyane are among the national leaders overseeing the conference held at the Olive Conference Centre.

READ NOW: Not with the ANC voters, he lost his appeal to deliver a better life – Sihle Zikalala

Gumede declines nomination, Ncube-Dube fails to garner support Source link Gumede declines nomination, Ncube-Dube fails to garner support

Back to top button