Russia declares entry ban for 963 Americans including Joe Biden

Russia said on Saturday it had so far banned 963 Americans from entering the country – including previously announced moves against President Joe Biden and other top officials – and will continue to retaliate against what it calls hostile US actions.

The largely symbolic travel bans are part of a downward spiral in Russia’s relations with the West since its invasion of Ukraine on February 24, prompting Washington and its allies to impose drastic sanctions on Moscow and increase arms supplies to Ukraine.

Separately, the State Department said it had added 26 new names to a list of Canadians it has prevented from traveling to Russia, including defense chiefs, defense industry leaders and Sophie Gregoire Trudeau, wife of Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

PICTURES | Russian ambassador to Poland sprayed with red liquid on Victory Day

By publishing the full list of banned Americans for the first time, the ministry said: “We emphasize that the hostile actions taken by Washington, as a boomerang against the United States itself, will continue to receive a proper rejection.”

It said Russian counter-sanctions were a necessary response aimed at “forcing the ruling US regime, which seeks to impose on the rest of the world a neo-colonial ‘rule-based world order’, to change its behavior and recognize new geopolitical realities.”

Previously announced names on the huge list included Secretary of State Antony Blinken, Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin and CIA chief William Burns.

The new Canadian list was announced four days after Canada introduced a bill that would ban President Vladimir Putin and about 1,000 members of his government and military from traveling there.

It included Jocelyn Paul, Eric Kenny and Angus Topshee, who last month were named the new commanders of the Canadian Army, Air Force and Navy, and leaders of companies including Lockheed Martin Canada and Raytheon Canada.

In response to sanctions, Russia had already banned Justin Trudeau, Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland and hundreds of other Canadians from entering the country.

Russia declares entry ban for 963 Americans including Joe Biden

Source link Russia declares entry ban for 963 Americans including Joe Biden

Back to top button